Cape Town is the second largest city in South Africa and is the capital of the Western Cape Province, as well as being the legislative capital of South Africa (the Houses of Parliament are here). It is located in the south-west corner of the country near the Cape of Good Hope, and is the southern-most city in Africa. It is a stone’s throw from South Africa’s world-famous Cape Winelands in Stellenbosch, Paarl and Franschhoek.

The Cape Town metropol covers a large area, from Durbanville and Somerset West in the east to Cape Point in the south and Atlantis in the north. The city centre is located in a relatively small area between Table Mountain and Table Bay.

Cape Town is also known as Kaapstad (in Afrikaans) or the Mother City/Moederstad in South Africa. It is also one of the most iconic cities in the world.